I’ve been absent…and…Happy 2015!

I haven’t posted in a very long time…I’ve been an amazing and busy few months, so I’ll recap what’s been going on.

My boss was fired – it needed to happen, he was incompetent and a chauvinist.  I got a promotion four days after meeting my new boss – she’s fantastic and I have a renewed energy about work…something I haven’t had in a long time.  I’m excited – that feels good.  I I made two trips down to Florida between November and December as we try to clean things up.  Work travel is always difficult with long days, limited time/energy to work out and eating can be difficult when you have to eat 4 or 5 meals a day.  I relied on protein bars and nuts for snacks.  We had a  Christmas luncheon and one of my co-workers said, “You eat like a bird!  You need to eat more!”  That’s always uncomfortable, so my reply was, “Oh this is my first plate, I’m going back for more!”  Of course, I didn’t, but no one noticed.

My husband and I took a 10-day trip to France – it was amazing!  We travel to Europe every other year for his work and we tack on a few days for exploring.  We had two full days to explore Paris and we did it on foot.  We logged over 20 miles and saw some amazing sites including how Christmas is celebrated.
eiffel selfieHere’s my husband and me in front of the Eiffel Tower.  We went to the top even though I am not a fan of heights!  It was amazing and a little scary, but we decided we couldn’t pass up the opportunity.

We ate fantastic food while in France – I really didn’t think about my diet.  I ate really great pastries every day for breakfast, I drank cafe au lait every chance I could and I had amazing French dinners and even had REAL French toast as a dessert (OMG – one of the best desserts I have ever had!).  But what made this trip different from previous trips…I didn’t eat the amount of food I used to eat – I didn’t want to.  I ate until I was satisfied, then I stopped.  I even managed to drop a couple of pounds during the trip – how does that happen???  🙂
french toast(Real French Toast…I didn’t eat all of it, but I enjoyed every bite I took!)

HAPPY NEW YEAR!  My goals for 2015…
20152014 was an awesome year for me…I am amazed as I think reflect back on the past year.  I lost 75 pounds and gained a lot of confidence.  I feel like I’m becoming the person I was meant to be.  I am happy.  I am kinder to myself.  I am more patient with my family.  I feel like I’m growing as a person.  I found a love for hot yoga and hiking (sometimes in the same day) – they are good for my soul and my mind.  2015 is going to be a great year, too!

Two friends of mine and I started the 2,015 in 2015 Challenge…we will log 2,015 miles as a team this year (it comes out to about 670 miles each).  Anything on foot – running, walking, elliptical is counted.  I logged over 800 miles last year, so this shouldn’t be a problem, but I am also doing hot yoga 4-5 times a week.  I’m looking forward to the challenge and I have found that doing it with a buddy or two is really motivating.

We started our challenge by snowshoeing four miles today.  We have never snowshoed before, so we didn’t know what to expect.  It was cold…27 degrees, but we quickly warmed up.  I was pleasantly surprised – I liked snowshoeing and am looking forward to going again!  (That’s me on the right – it’s nice not being “the big girl” in pictures any more!)
mile 1I look forward to posting more pictures of my mileage and the challenge updates.

  • So for 2015…Here’s what I’m going to do – not necessarily “resolutions”, but to-do’s:
  • Log at least 670 miles for the 2,015 in 2015 challenge (I should do more like 800-900 miles)
  • Continue hot yoga – 4-5 sessions per week
  • Continue to work on the McButterpants Project – be positive in my self-talk, be a better version of me
  • Don’t judge others
  • Get organized and declutter my life
  • Learn more about nutrition
  • Be a good role model for my son

Happy New Year, guys.  Thanks for being my motivation and for finding my story somewhat interesting.  I hope I’ve helped you this past year – I know having people read my story is motivating for me.  I love hearing your stories and connecting, so please don’t hesitate to contact me!  MAKE 2015 GREAT!

Leave a comment