Confidence…

My boss got himself fired finally…He was arrogant, chauvinistic, and quite frankly, an ineffective leader.   I worked for him for about a year and it was torturous. I don’t like to see people lose their jobs, but this guy had to go. He didn’t do anything in particular to get fired, he was just incompetent and management finally realized it and fired him.

So I went down to Florida to spend a week at the home office last week to meet my new boss and help chart the course to get our department whole and well again. This will be a huge task and will require a lot of effort and hard work. I am not opposed to hard work, I like my job and most of the people I work with, so I am actually looking forward to the challenge.

I was approached by my new boss and her boss about a new position they are trying to fill and they asked if I would be interested in being considered. Wow, what a welcome relief – my old boss would not have approached me about this. I felt like I was finally being recognized for my hard work and effort over the past few years.

Then I got to thinking…I wonder how this would have played out if I was still morbidly obese – 73 pounds heavier. Would I have even been considered? Maybe I’m a better employee now – my mind is sharper, I have more energy, I’m more positive, etc. Are people reacting to my newfound confidence? Maybe I’m letting the “real me” show.

2 thoughts on “Confidence…

    • It’s funny – they are acting like I already have it, but we haven’t discussed it nor has it been announced. There’s a shake-up brewing (I think there were 5 people that quit or got fired last week).
      I’ve decided to lay low…we’ll see what happens!
      (P.S. I’m drinking out of my favorite coffee cup this morning!!!!!)

Leave a comment